In-house lawyers news archive

Welcome to the New ILG Committee Members

Three new committee members have joined the committee, following on from the Committee advertising for new members to join by co-option. Find out more about who they are and what they do.


Maria  Elena Sanz Arcas – Corporate Governance Solicitor, Scottish Power.Maria Elena Sanz Arcas

Elena is dual qualified in Spanish and Scottish law, having spent time working as a solicitor advocate for the international law firm J&A Garrigues S.L.P. On moving to Scotland in 2011 to take part of the European Lawyers Association Programme, she spent time at Burness Paull & Williamsons and also gained experience of the Scottish Court system. Elena is also Secretary to the Scottish Power Foundation.

Jennifer Bairner - Senior Procurator Fiscal Depute, Appeals Unit, Crown Office. 

Jennifer has  been a solicitor within the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal service for over 10 years, having trained with COPFS between 2002 and 2004. Since qualifying she has worked across Scotland as a prosecutor and is now based at the Crown Office in Edinburgh. She is also a member of the council of the Procurator Fiscal Society (the PFS), serving as treasurer of the Society since 2012.

Andrew Todd - In-house Lawyer for Springfield Properties PLC.Andrew Todd

Qualified since 2002, Andrew is the sole in-house lawyer at Springfield Properties, which is one of Scotland’s largest independent house-builders.  He is a keen author, and is regularly featured in the legal publications as well as having written three books, including one on the Lands Tribunal For Scotland. In addition, Andrew is a senior tutor on the diploma of legal practice at the University of Glasgow and a member of the Law Society’s Property Law Reform sub-group and the legal group in Homes For Scotland.