Skip to main content

Nine Law Society Council seats up for election

25 April 2013 | tagged News release

Nine seats for solicitor representatives on the Law Society of Scotland's governing Council are up for election.

A total of nine nominations have been put forward for five Glasgow seats, while four nominations have been proposed for two seats representing Greenock, Kilmarnock and Paisley solicitors. There were three nominations for two seats representing solicitors in Cupar, Dunfermline and Kirkcaldy.

Amanda Millar has been returned unopposed to her seat for Perth.

These are the first elections to be held since Law Society members voted to reduce the size of Council at the annual general meeting in May 2012. Next month's election will see the number of seats representing Glasgow solicitors dropping from seven to five. The Cupar, Dunfermline & Kirkcaldy and Greenock, Kilmarnock & Paisley constituencies will have two representatives each on Council rather than three. Council will reduce from the current 62 seats to 46 over the course of the next three years.

The nominations are:

Cupar, Dunfermline & Kirkcaldy: Eileen Sumpter, Alistair Morris, both currently on Council, and Susan Williams, of Williams Gray Williams, Cupar.

Greenock, Kilmarnock & Paisley: Stuart Naismith, who currently sits on Council; Simon Brown, of Matthew Brown, Irvine; David McSorley, of McCluskey Browne, Kilmarnock; and Fraser Alexander, of Nellany & Co.

Glasgow: Alison Atack, Austin Lafferty, Dominic Sellar, John Flanagan, Ian Sievwright, who are all current Council members; Ian Moir, of Moir & Co; Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh, of Hamilton Burns; Nadhia Ahmad, of the Weir Group; and Nicholas Taylor, of Leslie Wolfson.

Ballot papers, along with candidates' CVs, will be posted to all constituents this week. The deadline for constituents to return their votes is 12 noon, Wednesday, 8 May 2013.



Please contact Val McEwan on 0131 226 8884


25 April 2013

Back to articles