Skip to main content

Alistair Morris nominated to be new Law Society president - three-way contest for vice president

29 November 2013 | tagged News release

The Chief Executive of Pagan Osborne, Alistair Morris, has been nominated to be the next president of the Law Society of Scotland, with three candidates nominated to succeed him as Vice President.

Alistair Morris, who is the longest-serving member of Council, having joined in 1992, is now set to succeed Bruce Beveridge as president in May of next year.

The new vice president will now be decided by a secret ballot of Council members with the result due to be announced on 13 December. The three nominations for vice-president are:

Jane MacEachran is the Head of Legal and Democratic Services at Aberdeen City Council and has been a member of the Society's Council since 2002. She is currently a member of the Society's Regulatory Committee and Convener of the Admissions Sub-Committee.

David Newton is the Society's current Treasurer and Law Reform Committee Convener. He is a partner with the PRG Partnership and has been a member of the Society's Council since 2005 representing solicitors in Dumbarton.

Christine McLintock is the former general counsel for Pinsent Masons with overall responsibility for the in-house legal service, professional risk management and compliance. She has been a Council member for Edinburgh since 2005 and is the current Convener of the Society's Education and Training Committee.

Commenting, current Law Society President, Bruce Beveridge, said: "I am delighted that Alistair has been nominated to be the next president. For the last 20 years he has given great service to his professional body, including a long period as convener of our Guarantee Fund Sub-Committee. I have no doubt he will be a first-class president when he takes up the role next May.

"I am also pleased to see such a strong field of candidates emerge for vice president. It is a mark of the important role which the Law Society plays, not just for the profession but for civic Scotland, that we are able to attract people of such calibre."


Notes to editors

  • Any solicitor Council member who has served for more than three years is eligible to be nominated as vice president or president. Candidates must be nominated by two other serving members of Council.
  • There are currently 54 members of the Council of the Law Society of Scotland (45 solicitors and nine non-solicitors). All will have a vote in the election of a new vice president.
  • The election will be conducted using the single transferable vote (STV) method. The vote closes on 12 December.  

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION: Please contact Val McEwan on 131 226 8884 or Suzy Powell on 0131 476 8115

Email: /

29 November 2013

Back to articles