Skip to main content

Nominations open for Council seats

14 March 2014 | tagged News release

Solicitors in four areas of Scotland are being invited to nominate themselves - or  encourage colleagues to stand - as members of the Law Society of Scotland's Council.

The seats are for: Aberdeen, Banff, Peterhead and Stonehaven (2 seats); Ayr, Dumfries, Kirkcudbright & Stranraer (2 seats); Airdrie, Hamilton & Lanark (2 seats) and Edinburgh (5 seats).

Lorna Jack, Chief Executive of the Law Society of Scotland, said: "The Council is the Society's governing body and crucial to ensuring a strong, independent and regulated legal profession in Scotland.

"Council members have the opportunity to debate and shape the big policy issues facing the profession today. They get involved in setting policy and informing the decisions that affect the solicitor profession in different areas of expertise. The position also represents a fantastic opportunity for individuals to expand their professional networks and strengthen their CVs."

There are two Council seats in all the constituencies except Edinburgh, where there are five. If there are more nominations than there are seats, the Society runs an election will all members for that constituency having a vote.

ENDS                                                                                                     14 MARCH 2014

Note to editors:

The Council is made up of members elected from geographical constituencies, co-opted members representing other interest groups, and non-solicitor members. It meets one day a month, nine times a year, normally in Edinburgh. Although Council members are unpaid, voluntary positions, reasonable travel expenses and, where appropriate, overnight accommodation expenses are reimbursed.   

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION: Please contact Suzy Powell on 0131 476 8115 or Kevin Lang on 0131 476 8167.

14 March 2014

Back to articles