Skip to main content

Record number of nominations for Law Society Council elections

08 May 2014 | tagged News release

A record number of solicitors - 18 in total - have put themselves forward to be members of the Law Society of Scotland Council following the nominations deadline for this year's elections. 

The Council is the Law Society's principal decision making body.  It agrees the Society's strategy, annual operating plan and budget and takes key policy decisions covering a broad range of areas. Most Council members are solicitors who are elected from geographical constituencies across Scotland. Around a third of these seats come up for election each year. 

This year's elections saw a record number of nominations including 12 for the constituency of Edinburgh where there will now be an election to decide the five Council members. It will be the first Council election to be run online following changes to the Society's constitution earlier this year. 

Nominations were also received to fill six other places on Council for constituencies covering Lanarkshire, Ayrshire, Dumfries & Galloway and Aberdeenshire. 

Lorna Jack, chief executive of the Law Society, said: "The solicitor profession is going through an unprecedented period of change with new and innovative business models emerging, major reforms to our justice system and the possibility of significant constitutional change in Scotland. That is why it is so positive to see such an interest from members in wanting to help their professional body lead and support a successful respected Scottish legal profession. 

"We are also looking forward to running the voting process electronically for the first time through secure online voting. For our members in Edinburgh, we want to make it quicker and easier than ever before to cast their votes and choose who represents them on their Council." 

As part of this year's round of elections, four solicitor Council members have chosen to retire - Frances McKay in Aberdeenshire, Stewart Sheddon in Ayr, as well as Catriona Munro and Ruthven Gemmell in Edinburgh. 

The Law Society's current president Bruce Beveridge is not seeking re-election in his Edinburgh constituency and will continue on Council as an ex-officio member for the next 12 months.  Christine McLintock, who also currently represents Edinburgh, will take up post as vice-president at the end of this month and will similarly become an ex-offico member of Council.  Their decisions will ensure there are at least two new Council members from the Edinburgh constituency. 

The complete list of candidates for this year's Council elections is;

(* denotes a current serving Council member) 

Aberdeen, Banff, Peterhead and Stonehaven (2 seats)

·         Jane MacEachran*, Aberdeen City Council

·         Graham Matthews*, Peterkins 

Ayr, Dumfries, Kirkcudbright and Stranraer (2 seats)

·         Carl Crone, Mathie Morton

·         Paul Matthews*, A B & A Matthews 

Airdrie, Hamilton and Lanark (2 seats)

·         Colin Dunipace*, Dunipace Brown

·         John Grant*, Jack Grant & Co 

Edinburgh (5 seats)

·         Colin Anderson

·         Jonathan Campbell, Capital Defence

·         Stuart Carson, Wilson McLeod

·         Paul Haran, Public Defence Solicitors' Office

·         Mark Hutchison, Gilfedder & McInnes

·         Kim Leslie*, Digby Brown

·         Ross MacKay*, HBJ Gateley

·         Brandon Malone, McClure Naismith

·         Ewan McIntyre, Burness Paull LLP

·         Vikki Melville, Simpson & Marwick

·         Susan Murray, NHS

·         Eilidh Wiseman*




FOR FURTHER INFORMATION: Please contact Kevin Lang on 0131 476 8167.

Back to articles