Skip to main content

Results for the Law Society Council election in Edinburgh

22 May 2014 | tagged News release

Three new and two returning members have been elected to represent Edinburgh on the Law Society of Scotland Council.

Solicitors across Edinburgh have been voting over the course of the last two weeks, deciding who should represent them on their professional body's governing Council. It followed a record number of nominations for the five available places earlier this month.

The successful candidates, who will now serve as Council members for the next three years are:

  • Colin Anderson - former legal manager at Standard Life and past vice-chair of the in-House Lawyers' Group
  • Ross Mackay - partner at HBJ Gateley and the Society's current Property Law Committee Convener
  • Brandon Malone - partner at McClure Naismith and chair of the Scottish Arbitration Centre
  • Vikki Melville - partner at Simpson & Marwick
  • Eilidh Wiseman - former partner at Dundas & Wilson and a Council member since 2009

Commenting on the result, the Chief Executive of the Law Society, Lorna Jack, said: "It was very encouraging to get a record number of candidates in Edinburgh and to see such interest from solicitors who wanted to be a part of leading their professional body. I want to thank all of them for putting their names forward and ensuring our members in Edinburgh had the widest possible choice. 

"I congratulate those who were successful and look forward to working with them over the next three years. I also offer my condolences to those who were not elected this time round, particularly to Kim Leslie, who has served on Council for the last ten years and has led much of our work on civil justice reform. I hope there will be other ways in which they can get involved or remain engaged with our work to lead and support a successful respected Scottish legal profession."


Notes to editors

The full results:

243 - Eilidh Wiseman

202 - Brandon Malone, McClure Naismith

189 - Ross MacKay, HBJ Gateley

163 - Colin Anderson

159 - Vikki Melville, Simpson & Marwick

153 - Susan Murray, NHS

148 - Mark Hutchison, Gilfedder & McInnes

141 - Jonathan Campbell, Capital Defence

133 - Kim Leslie, Digby Brown

122 - Ewan McIntyre, Burness Paull LLP

  97 - Stuart Carson, Wilson McLeod

  74 - Paul Haran, Public Defence Solicitors' Office

The Council is the Law Society's principal decision-making body. It agrees the Society's strategy, annual operating plan and budget and takes key policy decisions covering a broad range of areas. Most Council members are solicitors who are elected from geographical constituencies across Scotland. Around a third of these seats come up for election each year.

Nominations were also received to fill six other places on the Council for constituencies covering Lanarkshire, Ayrshire, Dumfries & Galloway and Aberdeenshire. Given the number of nominations matched the number of vacancies, there were no elections in these constituencies.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION: Please contact Val McEwan on 0131 226 8884. Email:

Back to articles