Skip to main content

10 solicitors among first summary sheriff appointments

05 February 2016 | tagged News release

Ten solicitors are among the first appointed to the new judicial office of summary sheriff, created under the 2014 Courts Reform (Scotland) Act.

Christine McLintock, president of the Law Society of Scotland, said: “This is a significant step in the ongoing reforms to our courts in Scotland which will help improve how our justice system works. I congratulate all 12 of the new summary sheriffs announced today and offer my warmest congratulations to each of them on their new appointment. I am of course particularly delighted to see 10 of our solicitor members appointed to those roles.

“Congratulations also to those currently sitting as stipendiary magistrates and who are set to take up their new roles as summary sheriffs in the spring.”

The new summary sheriffs will hear summary prosecution cases in sheriff courts. They will also be able to carry out some procedural aspects of some solemn cases, such as granting warrants for arrest. They are due to take up their posts in April and May this year. Current stipendiary magistrates are also set to become summary sheriffs.

The 10 solicitors newly appointed as summary sheriffs (excluding current stipendiary magistates) are:

  • Brian Cameron

  • Tony Kelly

  • Frances McCartney

  • Mary McCrory.

  • Christine McCrossan

  • Morag McLaughlin.

  • Sara Matheson

  • Mhairi Mactaggart

  • Andrew McIntyre

  • Derek Livingston 



Further information is available on the Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland website.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION: Journalists can contact Val McEwan at

Back to articles