Skip to main content

New solicitors admitted at Law Society Admission Ceremony

22 March 2016 | tagged News release

62 new solicitors were admitted to the profession at the Law Society of Scotland’s latest Admission Ceremony which took place on Friday 18 March 2016 at the Signet Library in Edinburgh.

The ceremony, which takes place three times per year, marks the culmination of years of hard work and the beginning of an exciting career in law for Scotland’s newest solicitors.

Speaking at the ceremony, Christine McLintock, president of the Law Society of Scotland, said: “It is a great privilege for me to be welcoming you as new solicitors and you should all be proud today - proud of your hard work, focus and determination over the past few years, proud of your world-class legal education and proud to wear the badge of Scottish solicitor – a badge that unites you all, regardless of where your career takes you.

“You are the future of our profession and your hard-won qualification is highly respected by employers and lawyers all over the world.”

Linda Urquhart OBE, Chairman of Morton Fraser, addressed the new solicitors as the guest speaker and gave advice about ‘super skills for lawyers’, including resilience and integrity.

Lorna Jack, Chief Executive of the Law Society of Scotland also gave an address and spoke about the services the Law Society offers for new lawyers and the many ways they can get involved with the work of the Society.

Speaking at the event, Ms Jack said: “I want you all to know that the Law Society is your membership organisation - you are our members and an important part of our role is to provide the support, services and standards you need to succeed in your chosen career.”

Michael Macmillan, former Law Society Council member and former Convener of the Law Society’s Admissions Committee, attended the ceremony to celebrate 50 years since his own admission in 1966 in one of the first admissions ceremonies of this kind.

New members on the Roll of Solicitors (Scotland):

Ann Kathryn Margaret Jean Alexander

Jennifer Andrew

Allan John Argue

Julia Audrey Barette

Christina Amy Barr

Lucia Bobkova

Heather Elizabeth Burnett

Jennifer Louise Burns

Vincent Wai Ki Chung

Connor Scott Clark

Iain Steven Corbett

Clare Elizabeth Davey

Katherine Maria Docherty

Riaan Duvenage

Roderick Watson McDougal Forgie

Cheree Flora Gemmell

Eilidh Kara Gillanders

Samuel Fergus Hall

Lauren Anne Heaney

Geraint James Gordon Hughes

Aileen Jane Irvine

Jennifer Anne Kantharia

Jennifer Elaine Kay

Liam John Kildare

Megan Claire Lafferty

Rebekah Elisabeth Laurenson

Susan Anne MacAulay

Calum Michael MacPherson

Murray Ross MacRae

Ashley Marie McCann

Sarah McConville

Maeve McCorry

Kirsten McKinnon

James Millar McMillan

Laura Marie Meldrum

Jacqueline Mitchell

Michelle Mary Moran

Sarah Megan Myles

Claire Frances Nicholls

Henry John Oliver

Emma Marguerite Padden

Katherine Elizabeth Priester

Christopher Miller Reid

Rebecca Jane Roberts

Corinne Denise Robinson

Michael Edward Ross

Arif Saleem

Katherine Mairi Shippin

Debbie Marie Smith

Melissa Claire Smith

Michael Duncan Smith

Hannah Katharina Starritt

Helen Maria Stewart

Michael David Stewart

Sarah Amy Ruth Stewart

Sarah Anne Stewart

Megan Sweeney

Kirsten Johanna Thomson

Lucy Clare Thornton

Sarah Louise Trainer

Kimberley Christina Helen Wafer

Sophia Rose Warburton

Back to articles