Skip to main content

New Law Society Council members for Fife and Glasgow

20 May 2016 | tagged News release

Four new members join three familiar figures as Glasgow and Fife members on the Law Society of Scotland Council.

Gwen Haggerty, from BSW Solicitors in Dunfermline will join Susan Williams, who has been a Council member for three years, to represent their Cupar, Dunfermline and Kirkcaldy constituents

Anne Macdonald, from Harper MacLeod LLP, David Mair, from Glasgow City Council, and Ross Yuill, at The Glasgow Law Practice, will join Alison Atack, who has served on the Council for 18 years, and Austin Lafferty, who was elected to the Council 10 years ago, as representatives for Glasgow and Strathkelvin.

Simon Brown and Stuart Naismith were returned unopposed for the constituency of Greenock, Kilmarnock & Paisley, as was Amanda Millar for Perth.

Lorna Jack, chief executive of the Society, said: “It has been very encouraging to see such interest from solicitors who want to be involved in the work of their professional body. I want to thank all of them for putting their names forward for election.

“I congratulate everyone who was successful and look forward to working with our new and re-elected Council members over the next three years. I also offer my thanks for standing to those who were not elected this time round. I hope there will be other ways in which they can be involved with the work of their professional body as we seek to deliver world-class service”

The full results and personal statements are available to read on the Law Society website:Council elections 2016



Back to articles