Skip to main content

Law Society Council candidates announced

04 May 2016 | tagged News release | Current issues

Voting is now open for the Law Society of Scotland Council elections in the constituencies of of Glasgow & Strathkelvin and Cupar, Dunfermline & Kirkcaldy.

Seven of the 10 seats due to be filled on the Law Society’s Council this year will see a contested election after 15 solicitors put themselves forward for the 2016 elections.

Current Council members Simon Brown, Matthew Brown Solicitors, and Stuart Naismith, Stirling & Mair Limited, were returned unopposed in the constituency of Greenock, Kilmarnock & Paisley. Amanda Millar from McCash & Hunter LLP was also returned unopposed and will continue to represent the constituency of Perth. There will now be an election to decide who will fill the seven remaining seats – five of which will represent Glasgow & Strathkelvin and two will represent Cupar, Dunfermline & Kirkcaldy.

Christine McLintock, president of the Law Society, said: "It’s wonderful to see our members wanting to help their professional body lead legal excellence and I’d like to thank this year’s nominees for putting their names forward. Being a council member is a worthwhile and rewarding experience and it is a fantastic opportunity to lead and support Scotland’s solicitors. I wish all of our candidates the best of luck in the elections.”

Three solicitors have chosen to retire from the Society’s Council this year – Eileen Sumpter, who has represented the Cupar, Dunfermline & Kirkcaldy constituency for nine years, Dominic Seller and Ian Sievwright, who have both represented Glasgow since 2011.

McLintock added: “Eileen, Dominic and Ian have each made important contributions during their time on Council and have worked extremely hard over many years. Their commitment and dedication to their profession will be missed.”

Voting for the 2016 Council elections is open from 4 May – noon, 18 May 2016. Successful candidates will be appointed as Council members at the next Council meeting on 27 May 2016.

The complete list of candidates for this year's Council elections is:

Cupar, Dunfermline & Kirkcaldy – two Council seats

Glasgow & Strathkelvin - five Council seats

Greenock, Kilmarnock & Paisley – two Council seats, unopposed

Perth – one Council seat, unopposed

The Council is the Society’s principal decision making body.  It agrees the Society’s strategy, annual operating plan and budget and takes key policy decisions covering a broad range of areas.

There are 49 members of the Law Society Council. 31 are solicitors who are elected from geographical constituencies across Scotland. Around a third of these seats come up for election each year.

More information about the Law Society Council and the elections can be found at

Back to articles