All you need to know about membership of the Law Society of Scotland, and the different types of categories and fees we offer or administer, can be found in this section of the website.

If you're not sure where to begin, look at our categories and fees page, or get in touch and we'll do our best to help.

Practising certificate renewal

All Scottish solicitors must hold a practising certificate to practice as a solicitor in Scotland.

SLCC Levy Collection

The Law Society collects and pays the Scottish Legal Complaints Commission (SLCC) levy on behalf of all solicitors holding practising certificates.

Consumer credit

From 1 April 2014 responsibility for the regulation of consumer credit work passed from the Office of Fair Trading (OFT) to the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA).

EU Establishment Directive

An EU directive on services in the internal market obliges solicitors to provide information on their services - over and above the requirements set out in the solicitors' 'standards of conduct' rules.

Section 35 Designated Body Status

We have recently reviewed our criteria in relation to section 35 and particularly in relation to Designated Bodies.

Additional information on applications

Our operation is generally governed by a number of Acts including the Solicitors (Scotland) Act 1980 and the Legal Services (Scotland) Act 2010.