Eight new legal members, along with 19 medical members, have been appointed to the Mental Health Tribunal for Scotland.

The eight are Sir Crispin Agnew QC, Kenneth Campbell QC, Laura Dunlop QC, Bruce Erroch, advocate, John MacGregor, advocate, Moira MacKenzie, advocate, Ruthven Gemmell, solicitor, and Laura McLaughlin, solicitor.

Minister for Community Safety and Legal Affairs, Annabelle Ewing, said the appointees brought "a wealth of skills and experience" to the tribunal, which is responsible for making, and reviewing, orders for the detention and compulsory care and treatment of people in Scotland with a mental disorder.