Forty seven individuals and 52 different teams from firms and organisations have been shortlisted in the 2019 Scottish Legal Awards, the organisers KD Media announced today.

They said there had been a record high volume of entries and number of competing firms in the annual competition, now in its 16th year.

Included in the awards announcements are three new in-house categories, introduced this year to recognise the rising number of in-house practitioners in both the commercial and public sectors.

Five firms will contest the Firm of the Year title: Dentons, Digby Brown, MBM Commercial, Shepherd & Wedderburn, and Thompsons, while the individual award for Lawyer of the Year will go to one of Aamer Anwar, Jill Sinclair of DWF and Stephen Trombala of Shepherd & Wedderburn. In the running for In-house Lawyer of the Year are Maree Allison of the Scottish Social Services Council, Kenny Robertson of RBS and Jane Valentine of Wheatley Group.

Two special awards which are not open for entry but decided at the discretion of the panel, will also be presented: the Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by The Times, and Managing Partner of the Year, sponsored by Scott + Co.

The winners will be announced at the annual black-tie awards ceremony, which takes place on Thursday 21 March 2019 at the Hilton Hotel, William Street, Glasgow.

Shonaig Macpherson, chair of the judging panel, commented: “Reviewing this year’s record high submissions was very encouraging as these awards continue to diversify to recognise the wide body of law practice in Scotland. Finalists should feel very proud that not only have they performed at the top of their game in the last year, but they impressed the judges with their thoughtful and very detailed submissions. Congratulations to everyone and we look forward to celebrating the many achievements in Scottish law.”

Click here to access the full list of finalists.