The Scottish Land Court has come under the administration of the Scottish Courts & Tribunals Service from the beginning of this month.

The change is made by the Judiciary and Courts (Scotland) Act 2008 (Scottish Land Court) Order 2017, under which the specialist body becomes one of ”the Scottish courts” as defined by the Act and within the responsibility of the Lord President.

It also specifies that the members and Deputy Chairman of the court will become judicial office holders as defined by the Act. Staff will transfer from Scottish Government into the SCTS.

The court will retain its identity as a separate court but its administration will be under the auspices of the Court of Session. The current chairman is Lord Minginish.

Its offices remain at Scottish Land Court, George House, 126 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4HH (t: 0131 271 4360; e:; w: