Nominations for solicitors to be honoured for their contribution to society have been invited by the Law Society of Scotland as part of its 70th anniversary celebrations.

The Society, which was founded in 1949, is looking for nominations of Scottish solicitors who have given outstanding service for the public good, for honorary membership of the Society.

The award has been made to 15 solicitors over the Society's 70-year history. The most recent recipient was Adrian Ward MBE in May 2017 for his pioneering work on incapacity and mental health and disability law. Others have included the late defence lawyer Joe Beltrami, politicians Donald Dewar and Winnie Ewing, and pioneering female solicitor Ethel Houston OBE.

Alison Atack, President of the Society, commented: “Whether working in private practice or in-house, in big or small organisations, solicitors do phenomenal work in our communities right across the country. As we mark the Society’s 70th year, we are keen for our members to nominate the solicitors they believe should be granted honorary membership in recognition of their work.”

The deadline for completed nomination forms is Friday, 29 March 2019. Nominations are welcome from all in the profession for practising or non-practising members, but solicitors cannot self-nominate. Nominations will be considered by the Society’s board in April with final recommendations to go before the Society's Council on 26 April 2019.

Click here to access the nomination form.