Twenty one summary sheriffs have been appointed across all six sheriffdoms in Scotland, to assist with the disposal of business under the new procedures created by the court reform legislation.

Joining the first 15 summary sheriffs appointed last year, they will take up office in March 2017 to deal with the new simple procedure for lower value civil claims and certain summary criminal business.

The appointments are as follows:

Sheriffdom of Glasgow and Strathkelvin, sitting at Glasgow Sheriff Court: Shona Gilroy, Gerard Bonnar, Barry Divers and Diana McConnell.

Sheriffdom of Lothian and Borders, based between Edinburgh and Livingston: John Cook, Adrian Cottam, Peter McCormack and John MacRitchie.

Sheriffdom of North Strathclyde: John Hamilton QC, Michael Hanlon, Craig Harris, Daniel Kelly and Moira McKenzie.

Sheriffdom of Tayside Central & Fife: Alison McKay, Jillian Martin-Brown, James MacDonald, John Rafferty and Derek Reekie.

Sheriffdom of South Strathclyde, Dumfries & Galloway, based at Hamilton: Ross Macfarlane QC and Linda Nicolson.

Sheriffdom of Grampian, Highland & Islands, based at Peterhead: Eilidh MacDonald.

The appointments were made by the Queen on the recommendation of the First Minister, following a report by the Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland.