Convener: Austin Lafferty

Secretary: Fiona Robb (

Aims & functions of the committee

  • advise solicitors on all professional practice and conduct matters, encouraging progressive working methods in the process, so that the profession's standing as advisers to the public may be enhanced
  • keep under review existing rules and guidelines to consider whether they are still relevant in the light of current conditions
  • Identify issues which may need to be addressed by new rules or guidelines and consult with the profession on those
  • consider and make recommendations to the Council on new practice rules
  • issue new practice guidelines as required



Austin Lafferty (Convener)
Derek Allan
Morris Anderson
Johnston Clark
Ken Dalling
John Flanagan
Christopher Fraser*
Anne Macdonald
Jane MacEachran
Clare Macpherson
Joginder Makar*
Mark O'Hanlon
Susan Oswald
Prof Alan Paterson
Roy Paterson* 
Donna Reynolds
Sheila Webster
Fiona J Robb (Secretary)