Registration for this conference is now closed

Friday 29 October 2021 | 6 hours CPD | Attend online or in-person

Conference Chair

Mark Stephen
BBC Scotland Broadcaster

Mary Robinson
Adjunct Professor for Climate Justice in Trinity College Dublin and Chair of The Elders

Professor Paul Q Watchman
Climate Change and ESG Law and Special Legal Adviser at UN Environment Programme

Interview host

Emma Dixon
Solicitor, Public Policy Committee Member and Convenor of Law Society of Scotland COP26 & Climate Change Working Group,
Breakout Session 11:05 - 12:05 (choose one)


Alison Johnstone MSP
Presiding Officer, Scottish Parliament

Navraj Singh Ghaleigh
Senior Lecturer in Climate Law, The University of Edinburgh

Professor Beate Sjåfjell
Dr. Juris, The University of Oslo

Tessa Khan
Founder and Director, Uplift


Roddy Dunlop QC
Dean of the Faculty of Advocates

The Rt Hon Lord Carnwath of Notting Hill

Jonathan Goldsmith
Council Member of Law Society of England & Wales and former Secretary General of Council of Bars and Law Societies of Europe

Kyle Lischak
Head of UK, ClientEarth


Wendy Miles QC
Twenty Essex

Tim Crosland
Director, Plan B Earth

Adam Woodhall
CEO and Founder, Lawyers for Net Zero

Basil Woodd-Walker
Counsel, Simmons and Simmons

Caroline May
Partner and Head of Environment, Health and Safety - Europe, Middle East and Asia, Norton Rose Fulbright

Conference Chair

Mark Stephen
BBC Scotland Broadcaster,

Lord Stewart of Dirleton QC
HM Advocate General for Scotland, UK Government

Rowan White
President, Law Society of Northern Ireland,

Conversation Host

Mark Stephen
BBC Scotland Broadcaster,
Breakout Session 15:15 - 16:15 (choose one)


Judge Shona Simon
President, Employment Tribunals (Scotland)

Dr Angela O'Hagan PhD
Reader, Wise Centre for Economic Justice, Glasgow Caledonian University

Sarah Denman
Lawyer, UK Environment, Client Earth

Zarina Ahmad
Climate Change Communicator and Trainer, CEMVO Scotland


The Rt Hon Dame Elish F Angiolini DBE QC FRSE
Principal of St Hugh's College, The University of Oxford

Professor Sir Anton Muscatelli
Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Glasgow

The Hon Lord Clark QC
Senator of the College of Justice, Scottish Judiciary

Dr Peter Doran
Senior Lecturer, School of Law, Queens University Belfast

Professor Philippe Sands QC


Dr Rachel Killean
Senior Lecturer, Director of Graduate Studies School of Law, Queen's University Belfast

Lorna Jack
Chief Executive, Law Society of Scotland