The annual elections to the Law Society’s Council are to go ahead, and Scottish solicitors across the country are being invited to stand for nomination. There are eleven seats available across four constituencies.

John Mulholland, President of the Law Society said, “We know this is an extremely difficult and challenging time for our profession. At the Law Society, our number one priority is to help and support our members wherever we can. Given the current pressures on our members, we looked at every way in which these Council elections could be postponed until a later point in the year.

“However, our constitution simply does not allow it. Our nomination and voting processes are wholly online, as they have been for the last five years, making it as simple and easy as possible to participate. We sincerely hope that eligible solicitors will look at this opportunity positively and put themselves forward to represent their fellow constituency solicitors for the next three years.

“I became a Council member in 2012, representing the Alloa, Falkirk, Linlithgow and Stirling constituency and have found it a fascinating and rewarding experience, as well as challenging at times. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the members within my constituency, expanding my network, and being able to stand up and represent the views of my fellow solicitors, making sure their views are heard across our membership. I would strongly encourage my fellow Scottish solicitors to stand for election, particularly in these unprecedented times.”

Council members for each of the eleven available seats will be elected by their fellow ‘constituency’ members for a three-year term and the successful candidates will be invited to attend nine council meetings a year, either digitally or in person.

Nominations for the 2020 elections are currently being invited and should be submitted by 12 noon Wednesday 22 April.

Seats are available in the following constituencies: 

• Aberdeen, Banff, Peterhead and Stonehaven – 2 seats
• Ayr, Dumfries. Kirkcudbright and Stranraer – 2 seats
• Airdrie, Hamilton & Lanark – 2 seats
• Edinburgh – 5 seats

Voting will be open from 12 noon on Thursday 7 May 2020 and will close 12 noon Thursday 21 May. The successful candidates will be invited to attend their first Council meeting in May, subject to the current restrictions on movement. 

More information about the application process and what’s involved in being a Council member can be found on our website and any queries can be directed to the Law Society Registrar,

Large meeting room with screen and chairs around a large table

Council vacancies

Find out more about the role of our Council and look out for opportunities to get involved.