Five new members will join the Law Society Council following the nomination process, which closed on Thursday 21 April 2022.

Three new members, Amna Ashraf, Beatrice Nicholas and Jean-Paul Kasasula will join returning Council members Austin Lafferty and David Mair for Glasgow and Strathkelvin.

Two new members, Jaclyn Robertson and Ross Taylor, will represent solicitors in Cupar, Dunfermline & Kirkcaldy

Euan Mitchell is returning to represent solicitors in the Perth constituency and Peter Walsh will continue as Council member for Greenock, Kilmarnock & Paisley.

Representing the in-house legal sector, Sheekha Saha and Vlad Valiente have been reappointed as joint conveners of the Law Society’s In-house Lawyers Committee.

Diane McGiffen, chief Executive of the Law Society said: “I am delighted to congratulate all of our new and returning Council members. As we move on from the challenges of the pandemic and continue the development of our next five-year strategy for the Society, it’s great that we can continue to attract talented, committed individuals to the Council. I very much look forward to working with our Council to support our members to thrive and excel as we work in the public interest to ensure Scotland has the highest quality support and protection in place for all those who need legal services.

"I'm very pleased to see that Vlad and Sheekha are also returning to continue their work as co-conveners of the Society's In-house Lawyers Committee, which does great work on behalf of our in-house members.

"I would also like to thank Gwen Haggerty, Emma Crilley, Anne Macdonald, Ross Yuill and Louisa Doole who have all stepped down, for their hard work and commitment during their time on Council. They have each made important, thoughtful contributions and shown real commitment to their professional body and to the solicitors they have represented.”

The five new constituency Council members will be invited to take part at the Society’s Council meeting on 24 June following their appointment, which takes effect from 1 June 2022 for a three-year term.

Our Council

The Council is our decision-making body. It's made up of elected members from geographical constituencies, co-opted and non-solicitor members.