The Council is our decision-making body. It has 39 members elected from geographical constituencies, up to nine co-opted members representing other interest groups and nine non-solicitor members. It meets regularly and is usually chaired by the President. Working with departments and others, a wide range of committees and sub-committees report to the Council.

You can find out more about the standards our Council works to in our code of conduct for Council and committee members.

  • To fulfill its statutory obligations which include:
    • responsibility for the overall governance regime for the Law Society
    • the election of the President and Vice President
    • the election of the elected Council members on the Board
    • the appointment of conveners of Council committees (bar the Regulatory Committee) and the members of Council committees, subcommittees and working parties .
  • Approve the Law Society of Scotland’s strategy, annual business plan and annual budget.
  • Discuss  and  decide  on  matters  of  strategic  importance,  or  material operational matters which effect the efficacy of the Society and to bring such matters to the attention of the Board and Society’s Executive.
  • Hold the Board to account.
  • Discuss and decide  any other  matter which  the  Council determines is necessary in order to fulfill its statutory obligations.
  • Vote in the election of the President and Vice President and fulfill any other statutory obligations required of them under the 1980 Act
  • Vote in the election of the five Council members to the Board
  • Participate in the appointment of the conveners of  the  Committees of  the  Council  (bar the Regulatory Committee) and the members of Council committees, subcommittees and working parties
  • Represent their constituents whether they are an elected or co-opted Council member
  • Promote the interests of the public in relation to the profession as a lay member of Council
  • Raise matters of generic or sector concern/interest from their constituents with the appropriate team within the Law Society and/or Council
  • Raise matters of public interest in relation to the profession as a lay member of Council
  • Communicate effectively as a Council member with their constituents on matters of interest
  • Serve on one committee or working party throughout each three year term as a Council member
  • Advance the work of the Council to both the profession and public
  • Acquire a good understanding of the principal areas of work of the Law Society
  • Comply with the code of conduct for Council and committee members
Ex-officio members
President 2018/19
Vice President 2018/19
Past President 2018/19
Convener of the Public Policy Committee
Aberdeen, Banff, Peterhead & Stonehaven
Alloa, Falkirk, Linlithgow and Stirling
Arbroath, Dundee and Forfar
Ayr, Dumfries, Kirkcudbright and Stranraer
Council member since: May 2017 Solicitor since: August 1988
Campbeltown, Dumbarton, Dunoon, Oban, Rothesay and Fort William
Cupar, Dunfermline and Kirkcaldy
Dingwall, Dornoch, Elgin, Inverness, Kirkwall, Lerwick, Lochmaddy, Portree, Stornoway, Tain & Wick
England and Wales
Council member for England and Wales
Greenock, Kilmarnock and Paisley
Haddington, Peebles, Jedburgh, Duns and Selkirk
Struan was elected to Council in May 2018
Co-opted members
New lawyers representative
Representative of the Corporate & Banking Sector
Representative for Scottish solicitors outside of Great Britain
Representative for Scottish solicitor advocates
Crown Office & Procurator Fiscal Service
Convener of the In-house Lawyers’ Committee