Three appointments of Outer House judges to the Inner House of the Court of Session in the course of this year have been announced.

Lord Woolman has been appointed to the Second Division of the appellate level, effective from 17 February, succeeding Lord Drummond Young who is retiring. Lord Pentland and Lord Doherty will also be appointed to the Inner House, from July and December respectively, as two other judges are due to retire.

The Lord Justice General, Lord Carloway, and the Lord Justice Clerk, Lady Dorrian, recommended the appointments to enable court business to continue to be dealt with efficiently and effectively, and the Cabinet Secretary for Justice, Humza Yousaf, consented to the appointments as required by statute.