Finalists have been announced for the 2020 Scottish Legal Awards, the 17th annual running of the event to recognise the best performers in Scotland's legal sector. 

Fourteen individuals and 32 teams have been shortlisted in 17 categories, from more than 80 entries received from 48 firms across Scotland.

Shortlisted for Firm of the Year are Anderson Strathern, CMS, Digby Brown Solicitors, Ergo Law, Harper Macleod, MacRoberts and TLT, while Elaine Motion of Balfour+Manson, Iain Smith of Keegan Smith and Alan Kelly of MacRoberts contest Lawyer of the Year.

Ergo Law, which was founded only in 2016 by two women solicitors, is also shortlisted as one of two finalists for Excellence in Client Care, along with debt collection practice Ascent Legal Scotland.

The category winners, along with the judges' choices for the Lifetime Achievement Award and Managing Partner of the Year, will be announced at the annual black tie ceremony which takes place on Thursday 19 March.

Chair of the judging panel, Shonaig Macpherson, commented: “The awards' objective is to recognise Scotland’s leading firms, teams and individuals who operate at the forefront of our national legal system. This year's entries have again demonstrated the strength and robust health of our country's legal sector. In a year of landmark cases and continued innovation to support clients, entrants have provided us with examples of excellence across the breadth of their activities in Scottish law. The judges offer their congratulations to the finalists and look forward to celebrating with them in March.”

Click here to view the full list of finalists.