Solicitors from four areas of Scotland are being invited to come forward as candidates for election to the Law Society of Scotland’s Council.

This year there are 10 seats available across four constituencies:

Cupar, Dunfermline & Kirkcaldy – two seats
Glasgow & Strathkelvin – five seats
Greenock, Kilmarnock & Paisley – two seats
Perth – one seat

Voting is open to solicitors in the respective seats. Successful candidates will be elected for a three-year term, attending nine Council meetings a year, remotely or in person.

Alison Atack, President of the Law Society commented: “I became a Council member in 1998, representing the Glasgow & Strathkelvin constituency, and have found it both challenging and rewarding. It is a unique opportunity to expand your network, broaden your understanding and represent the views of solicitors with shared perspectives, whether they relate to region, sector or stage of career. I would strongly encourage my fellow Scottish solicitors to stand for election.”

Click here for information on how to apply. Nominations should be submitted by 12 noon on Wednesday 24 April.

Voting will open from 12 noon on Thursday 2 May 2019 and close at 12 noon on Thursday 16 May. The successful candidates will be invited to attend their first Council meeting on Friday 31 May 2019.

Any queries can be directed the Society's registrar, David Cullen: