Ayla Iridag has been re-elected as President of the Scottish Young Lawyers' Association, which held its first virtual AGM yesterday evening. Ms Iridag, an associate with Clyde & Co, has served on the committee for four years and also holds an executive position on the board of the European Young Bar Association.

Also re-elected were Chiara Pieri (Shepherd & Wedderburn) as Vice President, Laila Kennedy (Ledingham Chalmers) as treasurer and Claire Paterson (Slater & Gordon) as secretary.

Patricia Taylor (DWF), Matthew McGovern (McGovern Reid), Antonia Welsh (advocate) and Natalie Bennett (Harper Macleod) continue as non-executive committee members, while the Association welcomes Anna Hills (Thorntons), Maddie Thomas (student, University of Dundee) and Euan Forbes (Gillespie Macandrew) as new committee members.

"I'm delighted to have been re-elected by the Association, particularly in these challenging times", Ms Iridag said. "I'm so proud of what we have achieved over the last 12 months and the transitions we have made to digital engagement since lockdown began in March. I'm looking forward to extending that digital presence and to the events we are already working on for next year, including the rescheduled European Young Bar Association Conference in March 2021."

SYLA thanks the outgoing committee members for their hard work over the last year, and Ledingham Chalmers for hosting the Zoom meeting.