Registration for the Donald Dewar Memorial Debate Tournament 2019-2020 is now closed! 

You will receive confirmation of your entry within the next few days, however If you have any questions regarding your entry please contact Lyndsey Thomson at

Dates for this year's tournament are as follows:

  • First round heats will take place on Thursday 21 November and Tuesday 26 November
  • Second round heats will take place Thursday 23 January 2020 and Tuesday 28 January 2020
  • Semi-final heats will take place on Tuesday 17 March 2020 and Thursday 19 March 2020

Whether you are experienced or new to debating - get involved with Scotland's biggest high school debating competition today. Debating is a great way to not only start learning and developing new skills but it can also help to improve your public speaking skills and develop your self-confidence. David Blair, past participant and now a judge in the tournament, explains how being involved has helped him in his role as a solicitor.

How the debate works

Learn about the Donald Dewar Memorial Debating Tournament format, rules and timescales.

Information for teams

Find out how to enter a team for the debate and read case studies from past competitors.

Information for judges

Whether you're a law student, a trainee, a practicing or retired solicitor or just love debating, we'd love to hear from you!