Convener: Iain Nicol

Secretary: Lucy Stewart (

Aims & functions of the committee

  • to promote the interests of solicitors by examining and questioning the current methods used to resolve all civil disputes
  • to include a review of:
    • the organisation of the civil courts
    • use of information technology
    • representation by solicitors at tribunals
    • speculative and contingency actions and the insurance cover available
    • the efficiency of the courts and the roles of the regular users

Iain Nicol (Convener)
Ronald Conway
Julie Hamilton
Mark Higgins 
Gordon Keyden
Graeme MacLeod
Cameron McNaught
David Taylor
Patricia Thom
Robert Wilson
Steven Smart
Claire MacPherson
Clare Crawford
Pamela Stevenson
Kay McCorquodale
Lucy Durie (Secretary)