Convener: Jamie Whittle

Secretary: Robbie Forbes (

Aims & functions of the committee

Who are we and what do we do?

Our Rural Affairs Sub-Committee is made up of solicitor and non-solicitor members with an interest in and experience of a wide range of rural affairs issues. We work closely with other committees including the Property and Land Law Sub-Committee and the Environmental Law Sub-Committee. We respond to consultations and proposals for relevant changes to the law from a wide range of stakeholders. We have done a significant amount of work on crofting law reform, and are pleased to be contributing to the Scottish Government’s work on crofting law.

Members of the Rural Affairs Committee

George Bruce
Lauren Cook
Stephen Cranston
Jim Drysdale
David Findlay
Euan Forbes
Robbie Forbes (Secretary)
Leanne Gordon
David Hall
Vikki Halliday
Alistair Hill
Alex Iliescu
Emma Lawrie
James McMillan
Zara Mohamed
Adele Nicol
Viktoria Wahle
Jamie Whittle (Convener)

Find out more about our work on Rural Affairs Law